Svadhisthana is the second chakra, also known as the sacral chakra.
It is located under the navel, in the lower part of the abdomen, and represents the fulcrum of emotional energy.

This energy centre establishes the relationship between body, mind and spirit, and it connects our interior being to the outside world.
Its element is water, and it is depicted as a lotus with six orange petals (therefore this is the colour associated with it), inside which a crescent moon is inscribed, representing the region where the god Varuna governs.

This chakra is associated with spontaneity, creativity and self-expression, physical and emotional pleasure, joy, and sexuality.

When the second chakra is blocked, the consequences involve mainly our emotional sphere. We lose control of our emotions, we let anger and unreasonable feelings prevail us. We become moody, going from moments of euphoria to moments of deep apathy, and general bad attitude.
In the long run, obstruction of the svadhisthana chakra leads to disorders located in the area of the body in which it is located, such as kidney stones, genital cancer, and fertility issues.

Svadhishthana in summary

PositionLower abdomen
FunctionSexuality, emotions, creativity
SenseTouch and taste
Crystals and StonesAmber, citrine, topaz, opal
AnimalCrocodile, snake, fish, reptiles

Exercises to rebalance Svadhishthana

The best way to keep the second chakra open and balanced is to be open to creativity in everyday life, to maintain a healthy sex life, and to respect our body. However, it is fundamental to get in touch with your emotions and check if there are feelings that we are repressing or striving to process.
According to hatha yoga, the following asana has the greatest harmonizing effect on Svadhishthana:

Bhujangasana (Cobra)

When a cobra is disturbed, it raises its head. When it calms down again, he lowers his head to the ground. Through Bhujangasana our emotions, especially anger, can be controlled and calmed down.

How to do it

Start by laying down on your stomach, rest your chin on the ground and place your hands near your body in line with your armpits. The feet are flat.
On the inhale, press your hips on the floor and lift your upper body with the help of your hands. Tilt your head slightly and look up. The spine is arched and your shoulders are pushed constantly backwards from your pelvis pressing on the ground. Hold your breath until, on the exhale, you slowly return to the starting position.
Initially repeat this asana three times with short intervals, then begin to extend the practice by holding the position for a few minutes and breathing normally.

Baddha Konasana (Butterfly)

How to do it

Start sitting on the ground keeping your back straight. Then drop your knees to the sides and join the soles of your feet in front of your pelvis. Grab your ankles with your hands and pull them as far as you can towards your body. While maintaining this position try to reach your knees closer to the floor. Relax your arms and shoulders and imagine your legs as the wings of a butterfly. Always make sure to keep your back straight.

Dharana and Dhyana

Svadhishthana can be activated by some concentration and meditation practices. The discipline of kundalini meditation in particular is designed to awaken the qualities of a dormant chakra.

Pelvic circles

How to do it

Sitting cross-legged or in half lotus, place your hands on your knees, and begin to move the torso to form circles. Repeat this movement for six times and then switch direction.